.
News Alert
UPDATE: Massive Brush Fire Rages In Berkeley,…

Letter to the Editor: Re-elect Larry Quattrone to Hightstown Council

Hightstown resident Leo M.S. van den Blink expresses his support for Councilman Larry Quattrone

 

To the Editor,

I am supporting Larry Quattrone for borough council of Hightstown.

Here are some of my reasons: Larry Quattrone has lived in the borough of Hightstown for most of his 70 years. He has been on the Borough Council for 13 years, and council president three times. The number of meetings he has missed, one could count on one hand. Obviously, he is a dedicated public servant.

Hightstown was inundated last year because of flooding, and the fire house and Borough Hall were devastated by this storm. Rather than renovating Borough Hall, Larry Quattrone wants to see our local government move to Mercer Street. This would save the residents of town more than $200,000. Borough Hall should be razed, and instead an attractive sculpture park should be created for all the residents and visitors to enjoy. This would also create a connection of the mill and downtown, making it desirable for development. It's time someone looks at this and gets the taxes it should be paying.

His Innovative ideas have resulted in tax trimming, including the automated garbage pick-up, witch saved town a great deal of money.

Larry Quattrone has been an extraordinarily successful businessman for over 45 years. He is the kind of man who is a genuine asset to town. We are living in a small town with great potential. It also has many challenges. Larry Quattrone knows this borough. He is an experienced leader in town.

Mr. Quattrone has obviously shown his strength in leadership in our borough. As councilman he will be able to solve the many problems that face our town. Please join me in voting for Larry Quattrone for borough council on Nov. 6th.

- Leo M.S. van den Blink

Hightstown resident

B.Bennett October 17, 2012 at 10:23 AM
I think this is unfair for "Patch": to print this letter on their website. This shows favortism as this was in the Trenton Times for anyone to read. After this, the "Patch" needs to have an article on each person running for council.
Keepingitreal October 17, 2012 at 12:31 PM
B. Bennet, you are absolutely right!!!
D.Mair October 17, 2012 at 02:51 PM
I would like to know a bit about the others running
Hightstown Native October 17, 2012 at 05:21 PM
If Quatronne is a tax trimmer, then why have my Borough taxes gone from under $900 to more than $2,000 a year since he's been in office. But the thing that I haven't forgotten is that Quatronne is one of the council members who supported and voted for unlimited taxis in town even though most residents were against it. I know lots of other people who haven't forgotten and will vote accordingly.
Christina Marie October 17, 2012 at 06:42 PM
tax trimmer? you've got to be kidding - live in 1200 sq ft condo - no yard, garage, nothing at all that could possibly warrant over 6K in taxes...bought in 2007 and the next year they jumped over 2K...the firehouse is operational ...is it not? In the same area as the police department? I agree Patch - if you are putting a article together about voting...let's see all our options!
B.Bennett October 17, 2012 at 07:13 PM
Yes, Quattrone did vote for unlimited taxis. Didn't care about the hundreds who went to the council meeting and asked not to have unlimited....voted for UNLIMITED taxis - been there too long - 13 years - c'mon the president gets eight and out - vote accordingly time for a change in Hightstown -
Jake October 17, 2012 at 08:30 PM
Right on both counts. This letter should not have been published and, yes, Quattrone is out of touch and has been for a long time.
Keepingitreal October 18, 2012 at 01:45 PM
It's time for a change!
Keepingitreal October 18, 2012 at 02:11 PM
Quattrone is running against a "code law enforcement" person "Serrano," yet, because of the trash strewn behind his business on Mercer St., it has become a unsafe and unhealthy environment attracting rodents, etc. That's how much he cares for the community!
Rachel Gillett October 18, 2012 at 03:12 PM
Letters to the Editor by nature reflect the opinions of their authors. Anyone may submit a letter to Patch for publishing, including those who endorse other candidates. One easy way to get your opinion vocalized is to submit your letter as a blog on Patch. The below article will provide directions for those who want to post their letter, and we encourage anyone willing to share their opinions to do so: http://eastwindsor.patch.com/articles/posting-a-letter-to-the-editor-on-patch-0a062868
B.Bennett October 18, 2012 at 08:07 PM
Is Serrano a code enforcement person? Didn't know that and would vote for him if that is fact.
Lee Stults October 19, 2012 at 02:28 PM
Councilman Quattrone has my vote.
Hawkeye October 19, 2012 at 04:36 PM
I am voting for Larry Quattrone and so are my relatives, friends, business partners and neighbors !
B October 22, 2012 at 03:32 PM
Larry is the only current councilman that has the experience and vision to keep our town moving forward. I am a registered Republican but I will be voting for Larry next month.
B.Bennett October 22, 2012 at 06:00 PM
I am a registed Democrat and am not voting that way this year for council.
R. Smith October 24, 2012 at 11:22 PM
Quattrone has my vote! He is honest and trustworthy...quite unusual in politics! If anyone has better ideas of improving the quality of life for Hightstownians, speak up! I whole-heatedly believe Quattrone will listen!
Jake October 25, 2012 at 08:05 PM
Listening is one thing, acting upon your comments is quite another. I find it funny that you would vote for a candidate simply because they are honest. What exactly has Quattrone done to improve the quality of life in Hightstown. His own business is an eyesore.
Lee Stults October 25, 2012 at 09:44 PM
To begin with, he sees the logic behind the opportunity to move critical functions of our town, namely Borough Hall and the Police, out of a flood prone area. Based on the latest weather predictions for early next week I'd say his lone vote against keeping these items where they are is looking more logical with each passing hour.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something